To banish imperfection is to destroy expression

“…Imperfection is in some sort essential to all that we know of life. It is the sign of life in a mortal body, that is to say, of a state of progress and change. Nothing that lives is, or can be, rigidly perfect; part of it is decaying, part nascent. The foxglove blossom – a third part bud, a third part past, a third part in full bloom – is a type of the life of this world. And in all things that live there are certain irregularities and deficiencies which are not only signs of life, but sources of beauty. No human face is exactly the same in its lines on each side, no leaf perfect in its lobes, no branch in its symmetry. All admit irregularity as they imply change; and to banish imperfection is to destroy expression, to check exertion, to paralyze vitality. All things are literally better, lovelier, and more beloved for the imperfections which have been divinely appointed, that the law of human life may be Effort, and the law of human judgment, Mercy.”  (from The Stones of Venice by John Ruskin).

2015-09-05 21.02.33

I used to think I could be perfect. I tried my hardest to reach whatever it is that we call „perfection“. But the harder I tried, the more I realized that my goal was unreachable. I was “imperfect” by nature. Certain things were simply unchangeable and would stay the same no matter what. And when I finally accepted that I realized that it’s actually pretty great.

This is not a blog by a perfect person with a perfect life in a perfect world. And that‘s one of the things that make this blog interesting. Imperfection makes everything so much better and much more fun.

I have an interesting voice, it‘s very soft and childlike. I haven‘t always liked it but my voice is undoubtedly one of the most unique things about me.

One of my ears is more outwards than the other. I inherited that from my dad, because I am my dad’s daughter – and proud to be.

My right arm is more muscular than the left one, because I use it more to draw, paint and write. Those are things I love doing.

You could call it imperfections or flaws. Or you could call them characteristics. These things and many others are all a part of what makes me who I am. I was born with some, inherited many and the rest represents my life, things that have happened and things I’ve done. Just like trees come in different shapes and sizes based on their conditions while growing. And the same applies to all of us. That’s what true beauty is.

And since I’ve started with the sharing, here are a few more facts and confessions I have to make:

I’ve worn glasses since I was 2 years old.

I am hopeless at tying shoelaces. It takes me a very long time and I still have a feeling I’m doing it wrong.

Don’t expect me to catch a ball or anything else you throw at me. I won’t.

I’ve started to get wrinkles on my forehead and also one on the side right next to my mouth – because I smile so much!

I’m a very sensitive person and I cry easily. But at least you’ll always know when something’s wrong because I can’t keep it in…

I very rarely or almost never wear make-up.

I’ve been in an ambulance once. What happened? I was drunk and fell on my face. I got four stitches and had to spend 10 days of my holiday in Spain with a huge bandage on my chin. What did I learn from that? Don’t drink and run.

I once cut my hair into a very short boy cut and I loved it.

I can’t ride a bike Not properly at least.

Yes, I do have stretch marks, cellulite, circles under my eyes and body hair. All those things you’re not supposed to have, don’t worry – I have them too!

2015-09-05 21.04.43


2 thoughts on “To banish imperfection is to destroy expression

  1. Mjög gaman að fylgjast með blogginu þínu og hvað þú ert að gera, þú ert mjög góður penni!!
    Það tók mig mjög langan tíma að átta mig á því sem þú skrifar um, en eftir að ég hætti að reyna að passa inn í eitthvað mót sem hentar mér ekki líður mér mikið betur 🙂 Ég (og flestir sem ég þekki vel) er stórfurðuleg, en ef ég væri eins og allir aðrir myndi enginn muna eftir mér 😉

    Like

Share your thoughts

